Delaware DOE Makes More Changes In Leadership

The Delaware Department of Education made more changes recently with their leadership.  No formal announcement came out for these, but I did some super-sleuthing on their website to figure it out.

A long-time face at the DOE is missing from the top rung of leadership.  Susan Haberstroh.  She has been with the DOE since Mike Matthews was wearing diapers.  I think.  Her position as policy analyst has been replaced by Emily Cunningham.  She introduced herself to me the other day at the House Education Committee meeting.  Where is Haberstroh?  Don’t despair.  She is still there.  She is heading up the School Support Services (School Climate/Bullying, School Counselors, Nutrition and Nursing) division of the DOE.

Watson and Rivello are still there.  I can’t remember when Watson’s last day is but Rivello told me her last day is February 2nd.  Rivello’s replacement will lead the Educator Support area (I’m glad they changed the name from Teacher Leader Effectiveness Unit).

Alison May is still in charge of communications down here in Dover.  So if you file a FOIA request with the DOE, she is your point of contact.

Michael Rodriguez is a new name to me.  He leads the Student Support division.  My apologies if he has been with the DOE for a while now and recently got a promotion.  But he is from the Indian River School District and served as the Principal of North Georgetown Elementary School.  Say, isn’t Secretary Bunting from Indian River?

If it looks like Karen Field Rogers is in charge of a lot, that’s because she is.  Aside from the Academic Division, she oversees the rest of the DOE.  That is a lot of work!  Watson’s replacement will oversee the Academic side of things.

Two areas that appear to be in a silo are Office of Early Learning led by Kimberly Kraznowski and the Office of Innovation and Improvement (or as I like to call it the Christina Derangement Office) led by ex-Brandywine Assistant Superintendent Dorrell Green.  But everyone answers to Secretary Bunting who answers to Governor John Carney who answers to… well, nobody.  Except for Mrs. Carney.

What this picture doesn’t tell you is who is in charge of all those subdivisions.  Luckily, I figure it out.  You just have to click on the subdivision title in the PDF and it tells you.  So here it is:

Curriculum, Instruction, and Personal Development: Shelley Rouser

Student Assessment: Theresa Bennett

Exceptional Children Resources: Maryann Mieczkowski

CTE/STEM: Luke Rhine

Language Acquisition/Immersion: Greg Fulkerson

Higher Education: Shana Payne

Human Resources: Jeanette Hammon

Performance Management: Chantel Janiszewski

Data Management and Governance: Adrian Peoples

Adult & Prison Education: Maureen Whelan

Driver Education (Public/Non-Public): Michael Wagner

Title/Grants Support: Vacant

DIAA Athletics: Thomas Neubauer

Educator Effectiveness: Shannon Holston

Licensure/Certification: Wendy Modzelewski

Investigations: Charles Simpson

Finance: Kimberly Wheatley

Technology: Patches Hill

Charter Schools: Denise Stouffer

School Transportation: Gregg Tulowitzky

Capital Projects: James Pennewell

Now this isn’t the entire DOE.  Underneath all those subdivisions are many more people.  I’m not going to list them all.  But this is the core leadership at the Department of Education.  So if you have a question about something, I would direct it towards one of these DOE employees.  If you annoy the DOE too much, they will send you to Alison May if you are just an average citizen who just so happens to write a blog and writes about the DOE here and there.

The State Board of Education office is in the Townsend Building but they are NOT the DOE.  Many people confuse the two.  Donna Johnson is the Executive Director with a huge staff of one, her receptionist.

So this is the Delaware DOE.  Of course I will keep you updated once Rivello and Watson’s replacements have been named.  The Delaware DOE looks different than it did three and half years ago when I first started this blog.  Some names are still there, but many are gone: Schwinn, Ruzkowski, Reyna, Blowman, etc.  I did hear that David Blowman is now with the Delaware Community Foundation.  Bunting is the third Secretary of Education since I started.  The DOE is a calmer place than it used to be.  Or I just don’t hear enough about what goes on down there now.  Something I have no doubt they don’t mind at all!


Published by

Kevin Ohlandt

I am a proud parent of a son with Tourette's Syndrome and several other co-morbidities. I write on this blog to educate other parents so they know a bit more about not only special education, but all the really bad things that are happening with public schools in Delaware and the USA. We are all in this together, and if our children aren't able to advocate for themselves it's up to us parents! We need to stop letting companies run our schools, and demand our children get a proper education. Our Departments of Education in our states have become weak with fear from the bullying US DOE, and we need to take back our schools!

3 thoughts on “Delaware DOE Makes More Changes In Leadership”

  1. Looks like Gregg Tulowitzky is gone as Director of School Transportation too. Lee Dean and Linda Sullivan seem to be on their own.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.