DISABILITY LINKS

ADD/ADHD:

Attention Deficit is a very controversial subject.  Some doctors have suggested it doesn’t exist.  Some have said it does, but only when it accompanies another disorder.  While others believe it does truly exist.  It is one of the most common of the disabilities children face.  It can be very tricky to navigate through the waters and find good information.  Below are some of the sites that I have found to be most helpful.  If you agree or disagree, let me know!

ADDitude Magazine: http://www.additudemag.com/index.html

Attention Deficit Disorder Association: http://www.add.org/

Help Guide: http://www.helpguide.org/mental/adhd_add_signs_symptoms.htm

National Institute of Mental Health: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/attention-deficit-hyperactivity-disorder/index.shtml

Psych Central: http://psychcentral.com/disorders/adhd/

Web MD: http://www.webmd.com/add-adhd/guide/adhd-causes

AUTISM

Asperger Syndrome & High Functioning Autism Association: http://ahany.org/

Autism Beacon: http://autismbeacon.com/home

Autism Healing Thresholds: http://autism.healingthresholds.com/

Autism Highway: http://autismhwy.com/

Autism New Jersey: http://autismnj.org/

Autism Research Institute: http://www.autism.com/

Autism Society: http://www.autism-society.org/

Autism Speaks: http://www.autismspeaks.org/

Autism Web: A Parent’s Guide To Autism Spectrum Disorder: http://autismweb.com/

Disability Scoop: http://www.disabilityscoop.com/

National Autism Association: http://nationalautismassociation.org/?gclid=CNre2M75u78CFQODaQodqYAA_A

Quality Service for the Autism Community: http://www.qsac.com/our-resources/resou/?gclid=CIDA1In6u78CFUEF7AodY0wAUQ

DYSLEXIA

Dyslexia affects children across the world.  The following are some helpful links to help families and schools understand dyslexia.

Dyslexia.com: http://www.dyslexia.com/

Decoding Dyslexia Delaware: http://decodingdyslexiade.org

WebMD: http://www.webmd.com/children/understanding-dyslexia-basics

International Dyslexia Association: http://eida.org/

OBSESSIVE COMPULSIVE DISORDER

Anxiety & Depression Association of America: http://www.adaa.org/understanding-anxiety/obsessive-compulsive-disorder-ocd

Beyond OCD: http://beyondocd.org/ocd-facts

Mayo Clinic: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/ocd/basics/definition/con-20027827

National Alliance on Mental Illness: http://www.nami.org/Template.cfm?Section=By_Illness&Template=/TaggedPage/TaggedPageDisplay.cfm&TPLID=54&ContentID=23035

National Institute Of Mental Health: http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/obsessive-compulsive-disorder-ocd/index.shtml

OCD Foundation: http://www.ocfoundation.org/whatisocd.aspx

OPPOSITIONAL DEFIANCT DISORDER

Boston Children’s Hospital: http://www.childrenshospital.org/health-topics/conditions/oppositional-defiant-disorder

Mayo Clinic: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/oppositional-defiant-disorder/basics/definition/con-20024559

National Institute Of Health: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmedhealth/PMH0002504/

Psych Central: http://psychcentral.com/disorders/oppositional-defiant-disorder-symptoms/

Web MD: http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/oppositional-defiant-disorder

SENSORY PROCESSING DISORDER

Brain Balance-Signs & Symptoms of SPD: http://www.brainbalancecenters.com/blog/2012/04/signs-and-symptoms-of-sensory-processing-disorder/

Differences Between SPD & ADHD: http://www.additudemag.com/adhd/article/793.html

Occupational Therapy for Sensory Needs: http://mcandrewslaw.thelawlinks.com/publications-and-presentations/articles/occupational-therapy-for-sensory-needs/

Sensory Processing Disorder: http://www.sensory-processing-disorder.com/

Sensory Processing Disorder Foundation: http://spdfoundation.net/about-sensory-processing-disorder.html

Web MD: http://www.webmd.com/parenting/sensory-processing-disorder

TOURETTE SYNDROME

Below you will find many useful links dealing with Tourette’s Syndrome.

Life’s A Twitch: http://www.lifesatwitch.com/sx.html

Mayo Clinic: http://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/tourette-syndrome/basics/symptoms/con-20043570

National Institute of Neurological Disorders: http://www.ninds.nih.gov/disorders/tourette/detail_tourette.htm

Tourette’s Syndrome Association (National): http://www.tsa-usa.org/

Tourette’s Syndrome Association Delaware: http://tourettedelaware.org/

Tourette’s Syndrome +: http://www.tourettesyndrome.net/

Web MD: http://www.webmd.com/mental-health/tc/tourettes-disorder-topic-overview

Advertisements