In Florida, the parents of a 3rd grader are taking the very courageous step to sue their state Department of Education. Why? Because in Florida, if you opt your child out of the Florida State Assessment, the student will be retained and have to stay in 3rd grade. The parents not only find this unfair, but also unconstitutional. To move forward, they need a $17,000 retainer fee for their attorney. To date, they have raised an astonishing $12,200 in just 18 days. But they still have a little bit further to go. If you are able, please help them at their Go Fund Me account. Cases like this are how laws change.
If my state (Delaware) did this, you better believe I would be first in line to sue them! What our states are trying to do in the name of education is anything but. They sold out our students to corporations and testing companies. And they wonder why parents revolt!