Delaware House & Senate Vote On Leadership For Each Caucus


As the News Journal reported the other day, the Delaware House and Senate met tonight to choose the leadership for each caucus.  This was met with scrutiny by some because this is normally done a week after the election.  But both parties want to get the ball rolling early for the 150th General Assembly.  Who is in?

In the Democrat House, Pete Schwartzkopf will stay as Speaker and Val Longhurst will remain as House Majority Leader.  Larry Mitchell is the new Majority Whip.

In the Democrat Senate, David McBride will be President Pro Tempore and Nicole Poore will be the Senate Majority Leader.  Bryan Townsend is the new Majority Whip.

On the Republican side of the Senate, Gerald Hocker will be Minority Leader and Catherine Cloutier is the Minority Whip.

Once I know details on leadership for the House Republican side I will certainly update this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.