Hard Times & Desperate Measures: Exceptional Delaware Needs Your Help

Refusing to ask for help when you need it is refusing someone the chance to be helpful. -Ric Ocasek

Actually, to be fair, Kevin Ohlandt needs your help.  I’ve always been quick to accept help from others, but asking for help has always been very tough for me.  I’m going to put this in very simple terms: Exceptional Delaware will end unless I get financial help.

For the past six months, my personal life has been very chaotic. Last fall, I had a minor injury at work, nothing major, but it put me behind the eight-ball for a little while.  Other health issues crept up big time during the winter, along with my job cutting hours at the worst possible time.  As a result, I am very behind on bills.

I love this blog.  I love writing it.  But if I have to get another job, I won’t be able to keep this blog up.  It would be impossible.  I want to, but the time just wouldn’t be there.  So I am asking you if you could donate funds to help me out through this slump.  There are many things I want to do with Exceptional Delaware, but I haven’t been able to.  I’m able to get to local education meetings and the occasional meeting up north, but I’ve had to severely limit those.  Last fall, my goal was to at the very least step into every public school in this state.  But that costs money as well.

I work Saturday to Monday, a 12 hour shift each day.  So when hours were cut and my health issues (which are better now) interfered with my ability to get a full paycheck, the bills started piling up.  Things will fast reach an unsustainable situation, and I will have to make hard choices.  If it were just me, that would be one thing and I could handle that.  But I have a son, and he doesn’t deserve this.

If you are able to contribute, I would be forever grateful.  A contribution doesn’t get you much, just helping a fellow human being.  The blog would remain as is and a contribution wouldn’t buy you anything.  And all contributions would be anonymous.  I’m not going to write an article about it.  This article is hard enough for me to write.

This isn’t me selling out and become a corporate education reformer.  I am not selling my blog or looking for corporate ownership.  It is just me, embarrassed as hell, trying to get out of a bad situation.  If you think less of me because of this, I understand.  But that is not my intention.  Those who are closest to me know the whole situation and it has been one of the most difficult periods of my life.  But I have that thing called hope and I don’t ever want to lose that.

Exceptional Delaware began under very trying circumstances nearly three years ago.  It became much bigger and involved more work than I ever intended.  My constant goal has been to get the truth out as best I can.  Sometimes that truth is limited as I am unable to get the full scope of information.  But I have never given up after three years of chugging out articles about Delaware education and a few sidesteps along the way.  I want to keep delivering that truth, but I am not Superman.  More and more people reach out to me on a daily or weekly basis, and I can’t commit to all of them.  But with some help, I could.  This little project became my passion.  I am still baffled by that sometimes, but things don’t always turn out the way you thought they would!

I am not sharing this on all the usual haunts on Facebook for obvious reasons.  If you want to share it with someone, please send them a message.

If you have the means, please send funds via Paypal to kjohlandt70@gmail.com

Thank you either way and God bless you.

One thought on “Hard Times & Desperate Measures: Exceptional Delaware Needs Your Help

Leave a Reply

