Echoes Of The Past

I reminded myself I had to update the links to other Delaware blogs today since a few new ones have been introduced.  I did myself a favor and clicked on each link on the Delaware Blogs section to see which ones are still active and which aren’t.  As a result, I’ve added many to a new list called “Closed Delaware Blogs”.  I went a step further and found tons of old Delaware blogs and added those.  Thanks to Kilroy’s Delaware, The Delaware Way and Delaware Liberal for providing those links.  If you know of any old Delaware blogs that aren’t on my lists, please let me know.  As a general rule, if someone hasn’t posted anything in at least a year, I am putting them on the closed list.  There are a couple where I know the authors and know they are not planning to post anything anytime soon.

Blogging was around a long time before I entered the scene.  I think it is important to see what others said in the past.  Many of their thoughts are just distant echoes of what we hear today.  Different people and places, but the overall themes are the same.  Especially when it comes to education and politics.  We are entering a new era next week, nationally and in Delaware.  Things will change while some things will stay the way they have always been.  Having met some of these former bloggers, I miss their writings.  Especially Transparent Christina and Kavips.  Both of them had such unique spins on education.  I’m hoping Kavips has been lurking around the Delaware blogosphere just biding their time to come back.  We shall see!  I was just beginning as the seventh type was winding down and I would have liked to see what Mike O had to say about what has happened since.  He comments but it is not the same.  I could always go for more Steve Newton, but he seems resigned to posting on Facebook these days.  I’ve seen blogs disappear not long after they first came out.  Some of them were damn good too!  It isn’t an easy thing, this not-for-profit-much-less-a-penny 21st century writing mechanism.

One thought on “Echoes Of The Past

Leave a Reply

