Delaware Senate Education Committee’s MASSIVE Shake-Up

While the Delaware House Education Committee grew, it appears the Senate Education Committee is shrinking.  What used to be eight is now five with new members appearing and longtime members now gone.  It appears to be a boy’s club now!

The Chair of the Senate Education Committee is still Senator David Sokola.  No longer on the committee are Senators Ernie Lopez, Bethany Hall-Long, Margaret Rose-Henry, Robert Marshall, and Nicole Poore.  Sticking around are Senators Bryan Townsend and Brian Pettyjohn.  The two new Delaware Senators, Jack Walsh and Anthony Delcollo round out the committee.  I have to wonder what prompted this.  It is now three Democrats and two Republicans.  I can understand why Hall-Long and Poore aren’t on it anymore.  Hall-Long is the new Lieutenant Governor and Poore is the new Senate Majority Whip.  I have a feeling there is a story here so I will see what I can find out.

I do find it very odd there are NO females on this committee.  Nor are there any African-Americans either.  This could get very interesting…


Published by

Kevin Ohlandt

I am a proud parent of a son with Tourette's Syndrome and several other co-morbidities. I write on this blog to educate other parents so they know a bit more about not only special education, but all the really bad things that are happening with public schools in Delaware and the USA. We are all in this together, and if our children aren't able to advocate for themselves it's up to us parents! We need to stop letting companies run our schools, and demand our children get a proper education. Our Departments of Education in our states have become weak with fear from the bullying US DOE, and we need to take back our schools!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.