* Social skills: developing IEP goals

So, when are you moving to Delaware? ūüôā

Teachezwell Blog

To follow up on yesterday’s post, the purpose of effective data collection is to provide a starting point for instruction, specifically, developing IEP goals.  IEP 1

Where do I begin? ¬†Like the old adage, the squeaky wheel gets the oil. ¬†Those behaviors which are most interfering with a child‚Äôs ability to function socially provide a starting point. ¬†However, those ‚Äúsqueaky wheel‚ÄĚ issues do¬†not always belong entirely to a¬†student. ¬†They may be related to teacher behavior. ¬†For instance,¬†a teacher may not provide adequate warning for schedule changes or transitions from favorite activities. ¬†They may misinterpret a student‚Äôs response as challenging their authority. ¬†Teasing/bullying classmates can create extra ‚Äúsqueak‚ÄĚ for kids who struggle with social interactions. ¬†The classroom may be overloaded with visual and auditory distractions. ¬†I remember one classroom¬†with a constant musical soundtrack in the background. ¬†(It drove me nuts.) ¬† Parents may be uninvolved or have unreasonable expectations about the‚Ķ

View original post 299 more words

State Rep. Kim Williams & Thousands of Special Needs Children Need Your Help

House Bill 30 in Delaware will¬†allow funding for basic special education funding for students in Kindergarten to 3rd Grade.¬† Previously, this funding wasn’t there for these students at this critical point in the development of their disabilities.¬† The problem is there is no funding based on Governor Markell’s proposed budget for Fiscal Year 2016.¬† Right now, in Delaware, the Joint Finance Committee has been meeting to make changes to the budget.¬† These special needs children need your voice Delaware.¬† They need to know they will be taken care of in our schools.¬† Please read Kim Williams message to Delaware and then email the appropriate people below.¬†¬† Then, please spread this message from the top of the state to the bottom.¬† From the shores to the Maryland line.

Good Evening, I am writing to you tonight to ask you to send emails to JFC and the House and Senate Education Committee members. House Bill 30 was filed, this bill will fund basic special education for kindergarten through third grade, currently there is no funding in place. I have provided a link to the bill below. An email needs to be sent to the legislators below (it can be one email to all); they are the Joint Finance Committee and the House and Senate Education Committee members.  The House and Senate will need to release the bill from the education committee in order for the bill to be voted on by all members of the House and Senate; the bill will start in the House Education Committee. The Joint Finance will decide if this bill gets funded. This bill will provide additional teachers in kindergarten through third grades and will also help reduce class size in these grades. We all know early invention is so important, please assist us in getting this bill passed. Let me know if you have any questions. I need as many people to send emails. Thanks -Kim

http://www.legis.delaware.gov/LIS/LIS148.NSF/vwLegislation/HB+30?Opendocument

JOINT FINANCE COMMITTEE:
Johnson, JJ (LegHall) JJ.Johnson@state.de.us
Heffernan, Debra (LegHall) Debra.Heffernan@state.de.us
Carson, William (LegHall) William.Carson@state.de.us
Smith, Melanie G (LegHall) Melanie.G.Smith@state.de.us
Miro, Joseph (LegHall) Joseph.Miro@state.de.us
Kenton, Harvey (LegHall) Harvey.Kenton@state.de.us
McDowell, Harris (LegHall) Harris.McDowell@state.de.us
Peterson, Karen (LegHall) Karen.Peterson@state.de.us
Bushweller, Brian (LegHall) Brian.Bushweller@state.de.us
Ennis, Bruce (LegHall) Bruce.Ennis@state.de.us
Lawson, Dave (LegHall) Dave.Lawson@state.de.us
Cloutier, Catherine (LegHall) Catherine.Cloutier@state.de.us

EDUCATION:
Jaques, Jr, Earl (LegHall) Earl.Jaques@state.de.us
Williams, Kimberly (LegHall) Kimberly.Williams@state.de.us
Barbieri, Michael (LegHall) Michael.Barbieri@state.de.us
Bolden, StephanieT (LegHall) StephanieT.Bolden@state.de.us
Heffernan, Debra (LegHall) Debra.Heffernan@state.de.us
Lynn, Sean M (LegHall) Sean.Lynn@state.de.us
Matthews, Sean (LegHall) Sean.Matthews@state.de.us
Osienski, Edward (LegHall) Edward.Osienski@state.de.us
Potter, Jr, Charles (LegHall) Charles.Potter@state.de.us
Dukes, Timothy (LegHall) Timothy.Dukes@state.de.us
Hensley, Kevin S (LegHall) Kevin.Hensley@state.de.us
Kenton, Harvey (LegHall) Harvey.Kenton@state.de.us
Miro, Joseph (LegHall) Joseph.Miro@state.de.us
Ramone, Michael (LegHall) Michael.Ramone@state.de.us
Sokola, David (LegHall) David.Sokola@state.de.us
Henry, Margaret Rose (LegHall) MargaretRose.Henry@state.de.us
Hall-Long, Bethany (LegHall) Bethany.Hall-Long@state.de.us
Marshall, Robert (LegHall) Robert.Marshall@state.de.us
Poore, Nicole (LegHall) Nicole.Poore@state.de.us
Townsend, Bryan (LegHall) Bryan.Townsend@state.de.us
Pettyjohn, Brian (LegHall) Brian.Pettyjohn@state.de.us
Lopez, Ernesto B (LegHall) Ernesto.Lopez@state.de.us

Representative Kim Williams
19th District
302-577-8476 Wilmington Office
302-744-4351 Dover Office
Facebook.com/KimWilliamsforStateRepresentative
Twitter: @kimwilliamsde